Award-Winning Set of 4

Middle School readers & up



Four award winning books for middle school readers and up.
1. “The Watsons Go to Birmingham”
A wonderful middle-grade novel narrated by Kenny 9 about his middle-class black family the Weird Watsons of Flint Michigan. When Kenny’s 13-year-old brother Byron gets to be too much trouble they head South to Birmingham to visit Grandma the one person who can shape him up. And they happen to be in Birmingham when Grandma’s church is blown up.

2. “Bud Not Buddy”
Ten-year-old Bud a motherless boy living in Flint Michigan during the Great Depression escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father–the renowned bandleader H.E. Calloway of Grand Rapids.;Newbery Medal 2000;Booksellers’ Choice 2000;Coretta Scott King Award 2000;Parents’ Choice Award (Fall) 1999;Blackboard Book of the Year Awards 2000;Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Award 2001.

3. “Elijah of Buxton”
n 1859 eleven-year-old Elijah Freeman the first free-born child in Buxton Canada which is a haven for slaves fleeing the American south uses his wits and skills to try to bring to justice the lying preacher who has stolen money that was to be used to buy a family’s freedom.

4. “Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry”
A black family living in the South during the 1930’s are faced with prejudice and discrimination which their children don’t understand.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Award-Winning Set of 4”